Out Now: Daniel Avery Song For Alpha B-Sides and Remixes

Daniel Avery
broadens the exquisite sonic universe established on his critically acclaimed sophomore LP Song For Alpha, almost a year to the day after the release of the latter, presenting the collected ‘B-sides & Remixes’ – out now on digital release through Phantasy worldwide and Phantasy/Mute in the US & Canada.

Left with over 100 tracks that were eventually distilled into his sophomore album, ‘B-sides & Remixes’ delves into the parallel universe of music that arose from these tireless, creative sessions.

Daniel Avery also invites a number of his contemporaries and some of the most vital underground producers in the world to rework his original material, with transformative results. Jon Hopkins, Actress and Four Tet each contribute typically bold reinterpretations. Deeper still, the collection highlights remixes from uncompromising, underground producers such as Giant Swan, Manni Dee, Mor Elian, Inga Mauer and Anastasia Kristensen. Close friend and occasional DJ partner HAAi premieres a brand new remix, as does Avery’s studio neighbour and collaborator as PSSU, Richard Fearless. Meanwhile, pioneering techno acts Surgeon, Luke Slater and Patrick Russell apply their individual sensibilities, complimenting the album’s heritage of experimental electronics.

Older post Newer post