Daniel Avery - Slow Fade EP [PH 60] / Vinyl
Daniel Avery - Slow Fade EP [PH 60] / Vinyl
On Sale

Daniel Avery - Slow Fade EP [PH 60]

Regular price £10.00

Five years after his critically acclaimed debut Drone Logic, London-based producer Daniel Avery announces his highly anticipated second album Song For Alpha, set for release on April 6th 2018 on Phantasy. The album is preceded on January 19th by a 4-track limited edition 12” vinyl EP titled Slow Fade.

A prelude to the LP’s sonic exploration of the twilight world of a personal, transient life spent between clubs, hotel rooms, airports and home, Slow Fade captures the expanded foundations of Avery’s sonic palette. Arresting club moments linger under the surface, but the focus is on the smudged ambience that underpin Avery’s grasp on rave euphoria.

As a re-entry into a broader musical universe, ‘Slow Fade’ is immediately compelling, combining neo-acid, feedback loops and pure atmosphere at a patient but restrained pace. Meanwhile, ‘After Dark’ alters this aesthetic to it’s raw, pensive elements, stripping Avery’s distinctive drums completely, revealing a meditative, ambient fog. 

‘Radius’ announces itself with industrial intent, before unfolding seamlessly into a wistful electronic hymn, the perfect soundtrack to brooding London skies, and eventually evolving into slow-motion motorik. Closing the EP, ‘Fever Dream’ finds Avery at club tempo, but in a somewhat agitated state, on this occasion focusing on a paranoid rhythm that emerges clean from eerie, even paranoid territory. 

Close your eyes, press repeat.

Pressed onto heavyweight vinyl. Comes with a download code inside the sleeve.

  • A1 Slow Fade
  • A2 After Dark
  • B1 Radius
  • B2 Fever Dream

Please note, if this EP is bought with Song For Alpha, it will not be dispatched until April 6th, along with the album. If you wish to receive it earlier, please get in touch to arrange delivery. 

Artwork by Matt & Dan.

WAV files available on request.