Late of the Pier Announce 10th Anniversary Reissue

“They blew my f*cking mind. They’re called Late of the Pier. They made one record and disappeared.” Dave Grohl (2014)

Late of the Pier announce a special 10th anniversary edition of their cult debut album Fantasy Black Channel, produced by Erol Alkan and released in 2008 to great acclaim. Fittingly, the reissue – released on lenticular vinyl (limited to 500 copies) and accompanied by a digital companion album of unreleased demos and outtakes from the album recording sessions – is set for release through Alkan’s Phantasy Sound label, landing in stores on 18th January 2019. It includes the previously CD only secret track 'No Time', which appears for the first time on vinyl.

Pre-order Fantasy Black Channel Lenticular Vinyl here

Pre-order Fantasy Black Channel Standard Vinyl here

The record follows the band’s recent book release Ecstatic Data Sets: The Chorismos Apeiron Scanner (2028 Edition), published by Rough Trade and described as a manual for a music-making machine of the near future. The book is available to buy here. LOTP’s Sam Potter will be taking part in Rough Trade Books and the Science Museum’s ‘Algo-Rhythms: The Future of Music Technology’ panel discussion at the IMAX Theatre in London on Wednesday 30th January, hosted by Jarvis Cocker – head here for tickets.

LOTP (Sam Eastgate, Andrew Faley, Ross Dawson & Sam Potter) were a band of inter-dimensional musicians who landed in the late noughts, whose wild journey took them from the quiet North West Leicestershire countryside to the stages of Coachella, Tokyo and beyond. Following their 2008 debut they put out singles ‘Blueberry’ and ‘Best In The Class’ in 2010, their mutant take on pop attracting fans from Dave Grohl to Mike Skinner along the way. Joseph Mount of Metronomy calls them the “greatest band ever,” while Simian Mobile Disco super-producer James Ford says, “To me, the mid noughties seemed to be about trying to define a new kind of pop music by blurring boundaries and painting in bright colours. The colours that Late of the Pier used were the brightest of all.”

Eastgate continues to make music under his La Priest moniker, and has released music with Connan Mockasin as Soft Hair. Potter is an artist and songwriter featuring on Franz Ferdinand’s latest album, and producing immersive music lead installations to enhance people’s relationship to sound. Faley moved into entrepreneurship and education, working with Universities throughout the UK to develop the next generation of artists, scientists and technologists. He continues to write and record for personal enjoyment. Tragically, Dawson died in 2015 and is sadly missed.

Vinyl Tracklist:

A1. Hot Tent Blues
A2. Broken
A3. Space And The Woods
A4. The Bears Are Coming
A5. Random Firl
A6. Heartbeat
B1. Whitesnake
B2. VW
B3. Focker
B4. The Enemy Are The Future
B5. Mad Dogs And Englishmen
B6. Bathroom Gurgle
B7. No Time 

Digital Companion Album:

Broken Fairy Lights (Zarcorp Demo 2006)
Heartbeat Flicker Line (2007 Newcastle Demo)
Random Firl (Refill Men Twist Demo 2005)
Focker (Radio 1 Live 2009)
The Bears Are Coming (Zarcorp Demo 2006)
Space And The Woods (Zarcorp Demo 2006)
VW (2007 Newcastle Demo)
The Enemy Is The Dub (2007 Demo)
Focker SH-09 Version (Refill Men Twist Demo 2005)
A Thousand Years Ago (2005 Live Intro)
Bathroom Gurgle (Zarcorp Demo 2006)
Mad Dogs And Englishmen (Refill Men Twist Demo 2005)
heartbeat.flicker.line (Refill Men Twist Demo 2005)
Dose A (Refill Men Twist Demo 2005)
Space And The Woods (Refill Men Twist Demo 2005)
Sober Up, John (Refill Men Twist Demo 2005)
Heartbeat (Radio 1 Live 2009)
No Time (Refill Men Twist Demo 2005)
Circular (Refill Men Twist Demo 2005)
Heartclip (2006 MySpace Teaser)
Piss Hands (2006)
Spaceclip (2006 MySpace Teaser)
Space And The Woods (Erol Alkan 12” Vinyl Mix 2008)
Baguettes By Sam (Refill Men Twist Demo 2005)
Swindon Superb Sexuelle (2008 Tour Announcement)
Kolumbine (2005)

Older post Newer post