Phantasy Announces Erol Alkan 'Reworks Volume 1'

Phantasy Announces Erol Alkan Reworks Volume 1

Phantasy are proud to announce the release of Reworks Volume 1, a comprehensive collection of remixes from prodigious DJ and producer Erol Alkan, due for release on the 3 November, 2017 on double CD and vinyl, remastered and available as a five-piece collector's box, including a number of tracks which have long been out of print and highly sought after on vinyl.

Reworks Volume 1 is a musical overview of what makes Erol Alkan one of his generation's most iconic remixers. Framing a corner of his career in perspective – a success in taking on any source material and melding it into something of his own. Alkan’s philosophy towards a remix is to "re-produce" work as if the original never existed. Avoiding methods like the transplanting of a vocal on a contemporary dance beat, or adding a four-to-the-floor 808 kick drum underneath a rock band, Alkan instead takes a considered approach to build something new that offers a fresh and divergent take on the music in front of him.

Reworks Volume 1 looks back on over a decade of realigning other artists, including his classic versions of Justice's ‘Waters Of Nazareth’, Connan Mockasin's ‘Forever Dolphin Love’ and Death From Above 1979's ‘Romantic Rights’, remixes that have added new perspective and dimensions to the originals, at times perform alchemy, turning rock into dance music on reworks for Franz Ferdinand, Interpol and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, and he's just as comfortable taking on fellow dance music producers like Lindstrøm, Daft Punk and Hot Chip – a connection which lead to the classic rework of 'Boy From School'.

20 x track double CD mutlibox edition 
5 x 2 track 12” vinyl (can be bought individually)
5 piece collectors boxset with a download code and excluisve interview

Pre-order the boxset, CD and 12" Vinyl by clicking HERE


Older post Newer post